The Parliament of Canada consists of first, the Sovereign, 2nd, an Upper House, called the Senate; and 3rd, a Lower House, called the House of Commons.

The Governor General governs under the advice of a Council of Ministers, known as the King's Privy Council for Canada, which is responsible to the Parliament.

The Senate, as at present constituted, consists of 81 members, 24 each from Ontario and Quebec, ten each from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, four each from Prince Edward Island and Manitoba, three from British Columbia, and two from the North-west Territories.

The House of Commons, which is elected by the people for a term of five

years, consists at present of 214 members.\*

This number is fixed under the provisions of the Act of Confederation and the representation is arranged after each decennial census, by Act of Parliament, the basis being that the province of Quebec is always to have 65 representatives, and each of the other provinces such a number as will give the same proportion of representatives to its population as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec as ascertained by the census. British Columbia, by the terms of the agreement made between the Dominion and province prior to the union, is never to have less than six members.

The number of representatives and the population to each member are as under:—

Provinces.	Repre-	Population to each Member.
Ontario	86	25,383
Quebec	65	25,367
Nova Scotia	18	25,532
New Brunswick	13	25,470
Prince Edward Island	. 4	25,812
Manitoba	10	25,521
British Columbia	7	25,522
North-west Territories	10	18,443
Yukon	.1	27,219
	<b>214</b>	$25{,}100$

## The Electoral Franchise.

In addition to those of age, citizenship and sex (male of full age of 21 and a British subject) common to all voters in the provinces, the further qualifications of electors for Representatives in the House of Commons are regulated by Chap. 14, Act of 1898, which provides that the provincial franchises and provincial machinery shall be adopted, and that special disqualifications caused by the holding of federal offices shall be set aside.

In Ontario the qualification is practically residential manhood suffrage, the term of residence being, within the province 9 months and within the

<sup>\*</sup>Under the Redistribution Act, which came into operation in the general elections of 1904, the number of members of the House of Commons is fixed at 214, the same as under the previous Redistribution Act. The loss by Ontario of 6, by Nova Scotia of 2, by New Brunswick and P. E. Island of 1 each—10 in all—being made up by the gains of Manitoba (3), British Columbia (1) and North-west Territories (6). The Yukon received a representative in 1902 by special Act.